Souls Lost. Souls remembered

The idea forced its way to the surface: whether one person reads this, or 1 million, the soul I mourn must be remembered. Regardless of your beliefs two facts are universal: we are born and at some point in our journey we perish.

Sometimes, in the all too often hazy journey of life, we meet a soul and fate chooses to shine a light upon it. He appeared in my journey at a juncture where my writer’s tool appeared whithered and dying. He listened, though it was not in his nature to do so. As I spoke my eyes would flutter from his graying hair to his thick glasses but most of all to fatherly eyes that absorbed the aches of life- both mine and his own. As conversations wore on his message was one: write. Write, he said, because we are each given a weapon with which to tackle the forest that is life. Write, because first and foremost, it is your duty towards you; its your duty towards your soul. Somehow, he saw what lay within my intellectual fog. With each conversation, with hands made fatigued by the travailles of life, he began to reach within the fog to draw me closer to the sun of thought transference to written emotion. There would be others who would do even more to bring me back to, life giving, writing but they were emotionally invested to begin with. From his humanity, caring for a mind that was foreign to him, sprang a renewed vigor for the written word.

He lost hs vigor this week. Today I remember him.

Goodbye my friend.

About Amr Khalifa

An analyst, a political comentator on the uber complex Egyptian and MENA scene. I may not have every answer but I know the questions to ask. When not publishing in Ahram Online, Mada Masr, Daily News Egypt and Muftah I love the dynamic of the short story. If you adore the written word you have come to the right place. Pull up a chair and join me for a cup of literary tea.
This entry was posted in Egypt, Short Story, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Souls Lost. Souls remembered

  1. A beautiful piece. Obviously his wisdom was inspiring to you as it is to me. By sharing his word you keep his soul alive. I am sorry for your loss and thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Amr Khalifa says:

    His passing meant a soul in Stockholm felt another soul’s pain in NY. That is humanity, that was him. may he rest in peace . I thank you for you extremely kind words Dan.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Palestine | News & Headlines – Aug 23, 2014 | Occupied Palestine | فلسطين

Leave a Reply

